Applied Economics alumni

Alumni Newsletter

The Alumni Newsletter is available here in PDF. The newsletter is an ongoing source of information for alumni and friends of the department.

Add Listing

There are two ways to get yourself added to the OSU/AREC Alumni Page

  1. Email AEC Webmaster with the following information:
    • Your name
    • The year you graduated
    • The degree you received
    • Your email address
    • The URL of your internet home page, if any
    • Alternative contact information in the absence of an email address, such as a mailing address or phone number
    • Optional employment information (e.g. your employer, job title, etc.)
      (Include URL of homepage of your employer, school, department, etc. if you would like us to link to it.)

    -OR-

  2. If you do not have access to email, please mail the information listed above to
    The Department of Applied Economics
    Oregon State University
    213 Ballard Extension Hall
    Corvallis, OR 97331-3601

Alumni List

Alumni are listed alphabetically. Click on any letter to jump.
A |B |C |D |E |F |G |H |I |J |K |L |M |N |O |P |Q |R |S |T |U |V |W |X |Y |Z

A
Mary Ahearn
Branch Chief
USDA-ERS-RED
1800 M St., NW, Rm. 4076
Washington DC 20005
Ph.D. 1984
Phone: 202.694.5610
Fax: 202.694.5756
Email: mahearn@econ.ag.gov
Nikol Allison
Accounting Officer at a
Financial Institution in Salem OR
B.S. 1996
Agriculture Business Management
with an Equine Science minor
Email: nallison@mapscu.com
B
Sandra Batie
Elton R. Smith Professor
in Food and Agricultural Policy
Department of Agricultural Economics
Michigan State University
East Lansing MI 48824-1039
Ph.D. 1973
Phone: 517.355.4705
Fax: 517.432.1800
Email: batie@pilot.msu.edu
WebPage: http://www.aec.msu.edu/agecon/smith_endowment/
Robert Berrens
Professor
Department of Economics
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque NM 87131-0001
Ph.D. 1993
Phone: 505.277.9004
Email: rberrens@unm.edu
WebPage: http://www.unm.edu/~rberrens/berrens.html
Brent Boehlert
Associate
Industrial Economics, Incorporated
2067 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02140
Phone: 617.354.0074
Email: bboehlert@indecon.com
Daniel W. Bromley
Anderson-Bascom Professor of Applied Economics
Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics
Henry Taylor Hall, 427 Lorch Street
University of Wisconsin
Madison WI 53706
Phone: 608.262.6184
Fax: 608-265-3061
Email: bromley@aae.wisc.edu
WebPage: http://www.aae.wisc.edu/bromley/
Susan Burke
Senior Economist
ENTRIX
200 First Avenue West Suite 500
Seattle, WA 98119
Ph.D. 2000
Phone: 530.400.4458
Fax: 206.269.0098
Email: sburke@entrix.com
Ellen I. Burnes
11 Victoria Avenue
Woollahra, NSW 2025
Australia
Ph.D. 2001
+61 2 8021 4967 (home)
+61 4 1154 0760 (mobile)
Email: Ellen.burnes@booz.com
Derek Byerlee
Principal Economist
World Bank, S8-143
1818 H St NW
Washington DC 20433
Ph.D. 1971
Email: Dbyerlee@worldbank.org
C
Chris Carter
Staff Economist
Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife
PO Box 59
Portland OR 97207
Ph.D. 1982
Phone: 503.872.5270 x5460
Fax: 503.872.5276
Email: Christopher.N.Carter@state.or.us
Connie Chan-Kang
International Food Policy Research Institute
Environment and Production Technology Division
2033 K Street, N.W.
Washington DC 20006
M.S. 1997
Phone: 202.862.8106
Fax: 202.467.4439
Email: c.chan-kang@cgiar.org
Seong-Hoon Cho
Research Associate
Warnell School of Forest Resources
University of Georgia
Athens GA 30602
M.S. and Ph.D. 2001
Phone: 706.583.8267
Fax: 706.542.8356
Email: shc4982@owl.forestry.uga.edu
WebPage: http://www.forestry.uga.edu/warnell/
Kee-Chai Chong
Food and Agriculture Organization
of the United Nations
Programme Coordinator/Senior Fisheries Management Adviser
Bay of Bengal Programme
91 St Marys Road, Post Bag 1054
Abhiramapuram Chennai 600 018 India
Ph.D. 1978
Phone: 91.44.4936179
Fax: 91.44.4936102
Email: chong@yahoo.com and
Email: bobpkcc@md2.vsnl.net.in
WebPage: Bay of Bengal

Laura Conroy, JD
Director
Hillsboro Farmers' Market
232 NE Lincoln Ave, Suite K
Hillsboro, OR 97124

B.S. 1999
Phone: 503.844.6685
Email: manager@hillsboromarkets.org
WebPage: Hillsboro Farmers' Market

Gail Cramer
Head (Retired)
Louisiana State University AgCenter and College of Agriculture Department of Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness

Ph.D. 1968
101 Martin Woodin Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803 - 5604
Phone: 225.578.3282
Email: GCramer@agcenter.lsu.edu

Tim Cross
Assistant Dean (Agriculture)
2621 Morgan Circle
120 Morgan Hall
University of Tennessee
Knoxville TN 37996
Ph.D. 1991
Phone: 865.974.7112
Fax: 865.974.1068
Email: tlcross@utk.edu
WebPage: University of Tennessee-Extension
Richard Cuthbert
Seattle, WA
Phone: 206.695.4434
Email: rcuthbert@rwbeck.com
D
E
F
Ronald A. Fleming
Assistant Professor
University of Kentucky
Department of Agricultural Economics
309 Charles E. Barnhart Building
Lexington KY 40546-0276
Ph.D. 1996
Phone: 606.257.7271
Fax: 606.257.7290
Email: rfleming@ca.uky.edu
WebPage: Fleming Home Page
HomeAddress: 305 Albany Road, Lexington KY 40503
HomePhone: 606.278.4589

Robby Fonner
Economist
NOAA Fisheries
2725 Montlake Blvd. E.
Seattle, WA 98112

Phone: 206-302-2469
Email: robby.fonner@noaa.gov

G
E. Bruce Godfrey
Professor of Economics
Utah State University
Logan UT 84322-3530
Ph.D. 1972
Email: brceg@ext.usu.edu
WebPage: Utah State University
Wade Griffin
Professor
Department of Agricultural Economics
Texas A&M University
College Station TX 77843-2124
Ph.D. 1972
Phone: 409.845.4291
Email: wgriffin@tamu.edu
H
Mike Hanrahan
Program Manager, Arizona Department of Water Resources; Branch Chief and Regional Advisor, USDA/ERS and USDA/FAS/ICD; Program Manager and Senior Economist, Development Alternatives Inc. Retired from all!!
Ph.D. 1986
Phone: 541-226-9065
Email: michael.hanrahan@charter.net
Ivan Hascic
Empirical Policy Analysis Unit
OECD Environment Directorate
2 rue André Pascal
75775 Paris CEDEX 16, France
Ph.D. 2006
Email: ivan.hascic@oecd.org
I
J
K
C.S. Kim
Senior Economist
Economic Research Service, USDA
1800 M St. NW, 4057
Washington DC 20036-5831
Ph.D. 1980
Phone: 202.694.5545
Fax: 202.694.5775
Email: Cskim1020@comcast.ne
Email: ckim@ers.usda.gov
Taeyoung Kim
Assistant Professor
Dept of Food and Resource Economics
Gyeongsang National University, South Korea
#452-321, 501, Jinju-daero, Jinju-si, Gyeongsangnam-do, 660-701, Republic of Korea
Ph.D. 2013
Phone: + 82-55-772-1847
Fax: + 82-55-772-1849
Email: tykim74@gmail.com
Erik Knoder
Regional Economist
Oregon Employment Department
Newport OR
MS. 1998
Email: Erik.A.Knoder@state.or.us
L
Jiayin Lai
Quantitative Analyst
Risk Analytics
SunTrust Bank
303 Peachtree Rd NE
Atlanta, GA 30308
Ph.D. 2008
Phone:
Fax:
Email: jiayin.lai@suntrust.com
David K. Lambert
Chair/Natural Resources
219A Morrill Hall
North Dakota State University
Fargo ND 58105-5636
Ph.D. 1985
Phone: 701.231.7444
Fax: 701.231.7400
Email: David.Lambert@ndsu.nodak.edu
WebPage: Department of Agribusiness and Applied Economics
Clay Landry
Principal and Founder
WestWater Research
121 Grand Avenue, Suite 222
Laramie WY 82070

Research Associate
The Property and Environment Research Center
2048 Analysis Dr. Suite A
Bozeman MT 59718
M.S. 1997
Phone: 307.742.3232
Fax: 307.742.3996
Email: landry@waterexchange.com
WebPage: WestWater Research

Phone: 406.587.9591
Fax: 406.586.7555
Email: landry@perc.org
WebPage: The Property and Environment Research Center
Christian Langpap
Assistant Professor
Agricultural and Resource Economics Department
Oregon State University
Corvallis, Oregon 97331
Ph.D. 2003
Email: Christian.Langpap@oregonstate.edu

Sherry Larkin
Associate Dean for Research & Associate Director
Florida Agricultural Experiment Station
University of Florida
1022 McCarty Hall D, PO Box 110200
Gainesville, FL 32611-0200

Ph.D. 1998

Phone: 352-392-1784
Email: slarkin@ufl.edu

Philippe Latriche
French Ministry for Economy, Finance & Industry
Economic and Trade Dept
Near East & North Africa Desk
139 rue de bercy
75013 Paris France
M.S. 1994
Email: Philippe.Latriche@dree.org
Jason Lemieux
Water Resources Planner
HDR ONE COMPANY | Many Solutions
10900 NE 4th St, Suite 1110
Bellevue, WA 980084
M.S. 2000
Master of Science: Agricultural and Resource Economics
Major: Natural Resource and Environmental Economics
Minor: Water Resources
Phone: 425-453-1523 (main)
425-450-6292 (direct)
Fax: 425-450-6238
Business Email: Jason.Lemieux@hdrinc.com
Personal Email: Jason_A_Lemieux@yahoo.com
Jan Lewandrowski
Rm 4213
1800 M Street, NW
Washington DC 20036-5831
M.S. 1985
Email: janl@econ.ag.gov
Paul Lewin
Extension Specialist, Assistant Professor
Dept. of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology
University of Idaho
Agricultural Science Building Room 28D
875 Perimeter Drive MS 2334
Moscow, ID 83844-2334
Ph.D. 2011
Phone: 208.885.6048
Email: plewin@uidaho.edu
WebPagePaul Lewin
David Lewis
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Agricultural and Applied Economics
University of Wisconsin-Madison
422 Taylor Hall
427 Lorch St.
Madison, WI 53706
Ph.D. 2005
Phone: 608.262.5905
Email: dlewis2@wisc.edu
WebPage David Lewis
Biing-Hwan Lin
Diet, Safety, Health Economics Branch
Food and Rural Economics Division
Economic Research Service, USDA
Room N3073, 1800 M St NW
Washington DC 20036-5831
Ph.D. 1984
Phone: 202.694.5458
Fax: 202.694.5688
Email: blin@econ.ag.gov
Haixia Lin
Sr. Manager
SMB Modeling and Analytics
Risk Management| Decision Science
Dell | Financial Services
Ph.D. 2006
Phone: 512.724.4923
Email: Haixia_Lin@hotmail.com
Yonghai Li
Statistical Modeler
E-commerce Risk Management
Expedia, Inc.
333 108th Avenue NE
Bellevue, WA 98004
M.S. 2003
Phone: 425.679.3620 Fax: 425.679.7240
Email: yoli@expedia.com
WebPage: www.expediainc.com
Rusdian Lubis
Deputy President Director
(Environmental Impact Management Agency), Indonesia
Citra Bagus A-10. Jalan Gurame.
Pasar Minggu. Jaklarta Selatan
Indonesia
Ph.D. 1986
Email: rusdianlubis@yahoo.com
M
Kirk Maag
Law Clerk
to the Honorable Carlos T. Bea
United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit


H.B.S. 2006
E-mail: maagk_2000@yahoo.com
Alexander Marre
Research Agricultural Economist
USDA/ERS/RRED/FRHWB
Room N4088
1800 M Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-5831

Ph.D. 2009
Phone: 202.694.5338
FAX: 202.694.5666
E-mail: amarre@ers.usda.gov
WebPage: http://ers.usda.gov/AboutERS/Bios/view.asp?ID=amarre
John Martin
President
Intersea Fisheries West, Inc.
701 Dexter Avenue North, Suite 305
Seattle WA 98109
Ph.D. 1998
Phone: 206.285.5630
Fax: 206.283.7627
Email: John@intersea-seafood.com
WebPage: http://www.intersea-seafood.com
Manuel Michel
Executive Director
National Mango Board
3101 Maguire Blvd., Suite 111
Orlando,Fl 32803

B.S. 1999
Cell Phone: 407.739.3491
Fax: 407.629.7593
Email: michelm2@yahoo.com
WebPage: http://www.mango.org

Sian Mooney, Ph.D.
Dept. Agricultural and Applied Economics
Dept. 3354, 1000 E University Avenue
University of Wyoming
Laramie WY 82071
Ph.D. 1998
Phone: 307.766.2389
Fax: 307.766.5544
Email: smooney@uwyo.edu
WebPage: Mooney Home Page
Lacey Moore 2011
Enviornmental Economics and Policy
Cell Phone: 541.786.8443
Email: moore.lacey@hotmail.com
N
Toyokazu Naito
Associate Professor
Department of Economics
Kyoto Gakuen University
1-1 Otani, Nanjyo, Sogabecho
Kameoka, Kyoto Zip 621-8555, Japan
Ph.D. 1997
Phone: +81.771.29.2304
Fax: +81.771.29.2389
Email: naito@kyotogakuen-u.ac.jp
WebPage: http://www.kyotogakuen.ac.jp/o_ied/top/eng/econ%20intro.html
Justin Nelson Summa Cum Laude - Ag. Business Management, 2004
JD, Willamette University College of Law, 2007

Email: dukeuni@aol.com
Farhad Niami
Senior Economist
District of Columbia
Public Service Commission
1333 H Street, N.W.
Washington DC 20005
Ph.D. 1998
Phone: 202.626.9166
Email: FNiami@dcpsc.org
Shuzhen Nong
Data Mining Research Analyst Manager
AdCenter, Windows Live Group
One Microsoft way, Redmond, 98052 WA, U.S.A.
M.S. 2004
Email: shunong@microsoft.com
Company Website: microsoft.com
Tom Nordblom
Research Economist
Economic Resource Policy/ESU
Wagga Wagga Agricultural Institute
NSW Agriculture, PMB
Wagga Wagga, NSW 2650, Australia
M.S. 1971, Ph.D. 1981
Phone: +612.6938.1627
Fax: +612.6938.1809
Email: tom.nordblom@agric.nsw.gov.au
O
Takamasa Okutsu
Company: Koei Industry Co., Ltd.
Manufacturer of originally developed measurement and control devices: Electric valve actuator, Pulp consistency controller, Flocculation tester, etc.
Section: Product Marketing Dept.
M.S. 1991
Phone(office): +81.465.35.4333 [in Japan, 0465.35.4333]
Fax(office): +81.465.35.4328 [in Japan, 0465.35.4328]
WorkEmail: okutsu@koeiind.co.jp
WebPage: http://www.koeiind.co.jp
Home Address: Maison Hamacho 103, Hamacho 3-11-2, Odawara, Kanagawa, Japan 250-0004
Phone(home): +81.465.24.5874 [in Japan, 0465.24.5874]
HomeEmail: taka-ok@mxh.meshnet.or.jp
Beau Olen
Faculty Research Assistant
Oregon State University
Department of Applied Economics
Center for Agricultural and Environmental Policy
M.S. 2012
Phone: 541.737.1321
Email: Beau.Olen@oregonstate.edu
P
G. Hossein Parandvash
Principal Economist
Resource Protection and Planning
Portland Water Bureau
1120 SW 5th Avenue, Rm. 600
Portland OR 97204
Ph.D. 1987
Phone: 503.823.5350
Fax: 503.823.7269
Email: Hossein.Parandvash@portlandoregon.gov
Dannele E. Peck
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Ag & Applied Economics
University of Wyoming
Department 3354
1000 E. University Ave.
Laramie, WY 82071
Ph.D. 2006
Phone: 307.766-6412
Fax: 307.766.5544
Email: dpeck@uwyo.edu
Nicole Powell
PO Box 2344
Lake Oswego, OR 97035
BS (EEPM) 2007
Phone: 503.572.2348
Email: nicolep413@gmail.com
Vanessa Prileson
Apprentice Ranch Manager
47 Ranch/Sky Island Brand
PO Box 12
McNeal AZ 85617
2006
EEPM (Major) Rangeland Ecology & Mgt; Spanish (Minors)
Email: vprileson@gmail.com
Q
Lewis E. Queirolo
Alaska Regional Economist
NMFS, NOAA
Alaska Fisheries Science Center
National Marine Fisheries Service
7600 Sand Point Way N.E.
Seattle WA 98115
M.Sc. 1977, Ph.D. 1986
Phone: 206.526.6364
Email: lew.queirolo@noaa.gov
R
Nicholas Rada
Agricultural Research Economist
Food Security & Development Branch
Market and Trade Economics Division
Economic Research Service, USDA
1800 M St., NW
Washington, DC 20036
Ph.D. 2009
Phone: 202.694.5202
Email: nrada@ers.usda.gov
Benjamin Rashford
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Ag & Applied Economics
University of Wyoming
Department 3354
1000 E. University Ave.
Laramie, WY 82071-3354
Ph.D. 2006
Phone: 307.766-6474
Fax: 307.766.5544
Email: brashfor@uwyo.edu
Eirik Romstad
Dept. of Economics & Resource Management
Agricultural University of Norway
PO Box 5033
N-1432 Aas, Norway
Ph.D. 1990
Phone: (+47).6496.5708
Fax: +47.6494.3012
Mobile: +47.92.297.226
Email: eirik.romstad@ior.nlh.no
WebPage: Romstad Home Page
S
Vijay A. Satyal
Sr. Policy Specialist-Renewables and Conservation
Oregon Department of Energy
625 Marion St., NE
Salem, Oregon 97301

Adjunct Faculty-Oregon State University
Ph.D. - Environmental Sciences, 2006
Office: 503.373.0008
Email: Vijay.A.Satyal@state.or.us
Leigh Kingsbury-Sharp
Exeuctive Director
Napa County Resource Conservation District
1303 Jefferson St, Suite 500B
Napa, CA 94559

M.S. 1999
Agricultural and Resource Economics w/ a Water Resource Management minor
Office: 707.252.4188 ext. 110
Email: leigh@naparcd.org
leighsharp@me.com
WebPage: naparcd.org

Royce Ann Simmons
I am currently working for Harvest Capital Company in Canby, Oregon. We are an agriculture lender working throughout Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and Nevada.
B.S. in Agricultural Business Management
with a minor in Ag. Sciences
Phone: 503.263.6616
Fax: 503.266.6003
Email: rasimmons@harvcap.com
T
Dillon Tanner
Environmental Scientist
HDR Engineering
Portland, OR
B.S. 2011
Email: Dillon.Tannler@hdrinc.com
Michael L. Taylor
Senior Vice President and Senior Economist
Northwest Economic Associates, Inc.
12009 NE 99th Street
Vancouver WA 98682
Ph.D. 1991
Email: mtaylor@nwecon.com
Rebecca Thomas
Genetic Specialist
ABA Global
2415 10th St
Tillamook, OR 97141
BS (ABM)2015
Email: Rebecca.Thomas@genusplc.com
rebecca.irene1192@gmail.com
Brenda Turner
Occupational Economist with:
Oregon Employment Department
Workforce Analysis
875 Union St NE
Salem OR 97311
M.S. 1995
Email: turnerbp@emp.state.or.us
WebPage: Employment Dept Research
(This site contains tons of labor market data, our news
releases, newsletters, etc)
U
V
Branka Valcic
Scottish Association for Marine Science
Dunstaffnage Marine Laboratory
Oban, Argyll
PA37 1QA
Scotland
Email: branka.valcic@sams.ac.uk
WebPage: www.sams.ac.uk
T: (+44) (0)1631 559444 (direct)
T: (+44) (0)1631 559000 (reception)
F: (+44) (0)1631 559001
Steve Vaughn
175 N Gun Club Road
Independence OR 97351
A.B.M., Marketing and Trade 2004
Email: steve.vaughn@anderson-hay.com
Christian Vossler
Assistant Professor
Department of Economics
534 Stokely Management Center
The University of Tennessee
Knoxville TN 37996-0550
M.S. 1999
Office: 865.974.1699
Fax: 865.974.4601
Email: cvossler@utk.edu
W
Ray Waldron
Sr. Agribusiness Program Manager
Fintrac, Inc.
St. Thomas, USVI 08002
M.Sc. 1976
rwaldron@fintrac.com
Chenggang Wang
Assistant Professor
Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics
Texas Tech University
and Texas Agircultural Experiment Station
Texas A&M University
Lubbock, Texas
Ph.D. 2007
Phone: 806-742-0261 ext. 238
chenggang.wang@ttu.edu
Stanley Wang
Supervisory Economist
U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service
Ph.D. 1976
Phone: 978.281.9225
Fax: 978.281.9161
stanley.wang@noaa.gov
Edward C. Waters
Regional Economist/Consultant
11655 SW Belmont Terrace
Beaverton OR 97008 
Ph.D. 1995
Phone: 503.804.8857
Email: edwaters@hotmail.com
Kurt Williams
Associated Appraisers
2 West Main
Walla Walla WA 99362
B.S. 1996
Agricultural Business Management
with a minor in Animal Science
Email: kurt@webmail.bmi.net
J. Randy Winter
Professor
Department of Agriculture
Campus Box 5020
Illinois State University
Normal IL 61790-5020
M.S. 1979, Ph.D. 1986
Phone: 309.438.3563
Fax: 309.438.5653
Email: rwinter@ilstu.edu
WebPage: Winter Home Page
Barbara Wyse
Principal and Senior Economist
Highland Economics
2344 NE 59th Ave
Portland, OR 97213
M.S. 2004
Phone: 503.954.1741
Cell: 541.908.1058
Email: barbara.wyse@highlandeconomics.com
WebPage: Highland Economics
X
Y
Douglas Young
Professor
School of Economic Sciences
Washington State University
103E Hulbert Hall
Pullman WA 99164-5210
Ph.D. 1976
Phone: 509.335.1400
Fax: 509.335.1106 Email: dlyoung@wsu.edu
WebPage: Young Home Page
Z