Financial Support

Graduate research assistantships (GRAs) are offered to support work conducted on research projects under the supervision of one or more faculty members. Graduate teaching assistantships (GTAs) under faculty supervision are offered to start students on a track to acquire teaching experience. GRAs and GTAs are offered competitively, subject to available funds and faculty, and are limited to students pursuing the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees.

Incoming students typically spend their first year in the program assigned to a research project and/or as teaching assistants for undergraduate courses offered by the department. During that time each student is encouraged to visit with faculty about possible future research projects. Quite often students complete thesis research as part of their GRA duties.

Assistantships are awarded for nine months and can be renewed each year subject to normal progress criteria. The maximum number of months a student can receive support is 24 months for M.S. students and 48 months for Ph.D. students. Graduate support is competitive with other schools and other grad disciplines at OSU. A GRA/GTA includes a tuition waiver. Students are responsible for student fees. Students receiving .49 FTE GRA support are expected to work an average of 255 hours per quarter.

Prospective students can apply for financial assistance at the same time they apply for admission, no later than January 15.

The department and University also award several graduate fellowships and scholarships to outstanding students. These include:

The Robert Johnson Fellowship is awarded to an outstanding graduate student in the program, with Ph.D. students at the dissertation stage receiving preference. The fellowship amount varies from year to year.

The Emery Castle Graduate Scholarships in Economics are awarded to graduate students in the program who have demonstrated excellence as students and/or show promise of performing well as a graduate student at OSU and as a career economist. Both domestic and international students are eligible for these scholarships.

The Susanne Szentandrasi Fellowship was established in recognition of the commitment to excellence of Susanne Szentandrasi, a former Agricultural and Resource Economics graduate student. The award will be made annually and the amount will vary. The recipient must be an Applied Economics Department graduate student interested in resource and environmental economics.

The D. Barton DeLoach Distinguished Graduate Fellowships and Scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis to outstanding graduate students in the program. The awards are given annually in the amounts of $2,000 and $15,000 depending upon availability of funds.

The Eric Englund Memorial Post-Graduate Scholarship is awarded annually to graduates of Oregon State University for postgraduate study in Applied Economics and Home Economics. The scholarship usually is divided between two candidates; one from each department.

Charles E. and Clara Marie Eckelman Graduate Fellowships are awarded to outstanding students in Applied Economics, Animal Sciences, Food Science and Technology, and Microbiology. The fellowship is for a student interested in working in the dairy industry upon graduation.

2017-2018 Scholarship Recipients

D. Barton DeLoach Fellowship

Jason Beasley - $18,000

D. Barton DeLoach Scholarship

Tu Nguyen -$2,000

Emery Castle Scholarship

Deng “Dede” Long - $2,000

Srabashi Ray - $2,000

Jian Shi - $2,000

Elaine Jordan - $1,000

Ashley Lowe - $1,000

Mark St. John - $1,000

Robert Johnson Fellowship

Deng “Dede” Long -$6,000 (Fall 17 only)

Matt Sloggy - $18,000

Susanne Szentandrasi Fellowship

Chris Mihiar - $2,000

Albert N. Halter Fellowship

Seojin Cho - $1,780

JD Rowell Fellowship

Charlotte Lafollette - $1,000