Sun Grant Initiative

The mission of the Sun Grant Initiative is to (1) enhance national energy security through development, distribution and implementation of biobased energy technologies, (2) promote diversification in and the environmental sustainability of, agricultural production in the United States through biobased energy and products technologies; (3) promote economic diversification in rural areas of the United States through biobased energy and product technologies; and (4) enhance the efficiency of bioenergy and biomass research and development programs through improved coordination and collaboration between the Department of Agriculture, the Department of Energy, and the land-grant colleges and universities. A network of five land-grant universities serve as regional Sun Grant centers: South Dakota State University, Oregon State University, Oklahoma State University, the University of Tennessee - Knoxville, and Cornell University. Oregon State University hosts the Western Regional Center of the Sun Grant Initiative.

Please visit the Western Regional Center to gather more information about the initiative.

Title - Sun Grant Initiative

This is a multistate initiative. South Dakota State University is the lead institution

PI - John Talbott, Assistant Director, Agricultural Experiment Station

Oregon Representative - Bill Boggess, Executive Associate Dean and Associate Director, College of Agricultural Sciences and Oregon Agricultural Experiment Station

Web Site -

For more Information please contact:
John Talbott
Oregon State University
138 Strand Ag. Hall
Corvallis, OR 97331
Phone - 541-737-2194
Fax - 541-737-3178

Oregon Agricultural Experiment Station
224 Bexell Hall, Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR 97331- 8521
541-737-4251, Contact Us