Wheat Agricultural Literacy

There are more than 30,000 different wheat varieties, which can be divided into six different classes: Hard red winter, hard red spring, soft red winter, hard white, soft white and durum. Farmers in Central Oregon primarily grow varieties that are either from the hard red winter or soft white classes.

Hard red winter wheat is planted in the fall. When cold weather arrives, it becomes dormant. Growth begins again the following spring and it is harvested in late spring or early summer. In Jefferson County, soft white winter is generally planted in the spring and harvested in late summer or early fall.




  • Little Red Hen- Paul Galdone (Available for rent)
  • Burro’s Tortillas- Terri Fields
  • From Wheat to Bread- Kristin Thoennes Keller
  • Celebrate Wheat- Dan Yunk
  • All in Just One Cookie- Susan Goodman
  • Loaves of Fun- Elizabeth Harbison
  • Bread is for Eating- David and Phyllis Gershator
  • Bread Comes to Life- George Levenson
  • Everybody Bakes Bread- Norah Dooley
  • PB & J Hooray
  • Tyler Makes Pancakes- Tyler Florence
  • Wheat: A True Book- Elaine Landau

Field Trips: