Dr. Eric Andreasen had a resolute desire to conduct exceptionally sound scientific research that would have lasting societal impacts. He was instrumental in establishing zebrafish as a preeminent animal model for developmental toxicology research and made a number of other major contributions to developmental toxicology as well as to the fields of toxicogenomics, tissue regeneration, and aryl hydrocarbon receptor biology. He unfailingly offered to support and mentor others, and always made people feel welcomed and part of the research group family.

His commitment to others led to the career development of countless scientists. As a way of honoring the life and scientific accomplishments of Dr. Andreasen, an annual award was created in his name.  The Andreasen Award recognizes an outstanding graduate student that best exemplifies the qualities of scientific excellence and leadership exhibited by Dr. Andreasen. The recipient of the Dr. Eric A. Andreasen Graduate Student Award for Excellence in Research and scholarship will receive support to present their research at a national or international scientific meeting in their area of expertise. Graduate student nominations will be accepted from faculty at Oregon State University and the University of Wisconsin‐Madison.

Student Award Description

Award Application


Award Winners

Year Award Winner Institution
2015 Leah Wehmas Oregon State University
2016 Derik Haggard Oregon State University
2017 Gloria Garcia Oregon State University
2018 Kyle Wegner University of Wisconsin, Madison
2019 Prarthana Shankar Oregon State University

To donate to the Andreasen Travel Award Fund, please use the PayPal button below.