E.R. Jackman

E.R. Jackman Friends and Alumni is the Colleges membership organization for our alumni and friends. This group of dedicated volunteers actively plans, participates in, and supports student programs, alumni relations, and friend building on behalf of the College.

Consider joining this dedicated volunteer organization.

We have a small and nimble board that works year-round on committees to support students. Here is small sampling of the things we do to create opportunities for students and provide learning experiences beyond the walls of a classroom…

Funding a club field trip to a prominent Northwest business, allowing students to hear from leaders about challenges facing the industry.

Providing scholarships to students who might typically ‘fall through the cracks’.

Supporting summer internships for students in Oregon, the U. S. as well as outside the U.S., such as studying cheese-making in France or wine-making in New Zealand.

Sponsoring club outreach events like OSU Dairy Club’s Beaver Youth Day, which invites students from third grade through high school to come to campus and learn about fitting techniques.

Learn more about who E. R. Jackman was and why we have an entire organization proudly bearing his name.

2018 Board Members

Kim Bellingar, Chief Operating Officer of Adelsheim Vineyard in Newberg
Graduate of Animal Sciences & Biology from OSU in 2007

Hayden Bush, Agricultural Sciences and Industrial Technology Instructor, Tillamook High School
Agricultural, Animal, Food, and Soil Science, and Welding Instructor, Tillamook Bay Community College
Resides in Tillamook, OR. E-mail: haydenlbush@gmail.com; 503-812-6189

Stella Melugin Coakley, Retired, Associate Dean Emeritus, College of Agricultural Sciences, Professor Emeritus, Botany and Plant Pathology, Oregon State University.
Resides in Corvallis, OR. E-mail: Stella.coakley@oregonstate.edu; 541-753-6215

Mary Anne Cooper, Vice President of Public Policy for the Oregon Farm Bureau.
Honors Bachelor of Science in Environmental Economics, Policy and Management in 2006.
Resides in Gladstone. maryanne@oregonfb.org, 541-740-4062

Jack Long, Retired, J & L Nursery Co., Part President American Association of Nurserymen.
Bachelor of Science degree in Animal Sciences, OSU 1960. Jack Long treemanx5@gmail.com

Denver Pugh, President of Pugh Seed Farm Inc. and Ampac Seed Co.
B.S. in General Agriculture from Oregon State University in 1997.
Resides in Shedd, OR. Contact info; denverpugh@yahoo.com, 541-979-3435.

Karen Withers, Owner of AgCultured Consulting, LLC works with agricultural business and associates on International Trade issues and programs.
Oregon State University, Agricultural and Resource Economics Bachelor of Science – 1997.
Resides in Turner. karen@agcultured.com, 503-767-8232.

Lou Ann Wolfe, irrigated agriculture in Hermiston, OR.
Merritt-Davis School of Commerce 1965.
Contact info: feedlot@eotnet.net; (541)571-3352

2018 Annual Meeting

On Friday, October 19, 2018, the E.R. Jackman Friends and Alumni Board hosted its annual meeting at the new location of the OSU Foundation  at 4238 SW Research Way, Corvallis, OR 97333. In addition to the Board, over 18 other ER Jackman members joined to hear about recent happenings in the College of Agricultural Sciences. Executive Associate Dean Bill Boggess provided an update for the college and introduced incoming Dean Alan Sams. Assistant Dean Penny Diebel provided a summary of the college’s academic programs funded by ER Jackman (attachment 1) and at the Board’s request, a wish-list summary of additional needs (attachment 2). Through the earning of the various E.R. Jackman Endowment Funds and current use gifts, $110,000 is approved for the FY 2018-2019 Academic years. This is made possible due to donor generosity and the details are available (attachment 3). Dr. Dale Weber described the Internship Program that the Board funds; there were 28 students supported across 8 majors for Winter, Spring/Summer and Fall term 2018. International internships also receive support from the College’s Global Experience Fund that our Board partnered with to create.

We were pleased to have presentations from students who have benefitted from our support. These included the Puerto Rico Community Service Trip, Beginning Researcher, Club of the Year,  Internship Support, Scholarship, Ambassadors, and Ag Executive Council. A reception followed the presentations and we enjoyed the opportunity to learn more from our student guests and fellow E.R. Jackman members.

We welcome all donors to the College’s programs to become involved in our work to support our students.


Upcoming Events:

The E. R. Jackman Friends and Alumni will hold its Annual Meeting on Friday, October 11, 2019; the Business Meeting is 2-3 p.m. and we will have student reports on funded projects from 3-4 p.m. followed by a reception.