Awards & Accolades

Spring 2023

Volume XIV, Issue 2

Dr. Brian Sidlauskas has been selected as a Fulbright U.S. Scholar for 2023-2024 for Brazil.

2023 Diamond Pioneer recipients

On April 13, the college held a lunch to celebrate the lifetime contributions of 12 new inductees to the Diamond Pioneer Agricultural Achievement Registry.

The South Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve, in partnership with researchers in OSU's FWCS, has been awarded funding from the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law to conduct habitat restoration in forested, riparian, and estuarine habitat in the Coos Bay Estuary. The $3.5 million project, administered through NOAA, will restore an entire tributary watershed in the South Slough arm of the Coos Estuary, removing invasive species, restoring hydrology, and potentially increasing forested estuarine habitat, and important "blue carbon" ecosystem in the Pacific Northwest. The project is titled: "Wasson Creek Watershed Ridgetop-to-Estuary Restoration Project". OSU will receive nearly $320,000 to assist with scientific monitoring of the 4 year project which started this spring.

2023 Celebrating faculty recipients: James Sterns, Shalynn Pack, Matthew Kennedy, Steer-a-Year

The winners of CAS awards that the students voted on for Celebrating Excellence event on May 15th are:

James Sterns - Applied Economics - 2023 Distinguished Professor of the Year

Shalynn Pack - Fisheries, Wildlife, and Conservation Sciences - 2023 Distinguished New Professor of the Year

Matthew Kennedy - Animal and Rangeland Sciences - 2023 Distinguished Club Advisor of the Year

Steer-a-Year - Animal and Rangeland Sciences - 2023 CAS Club of the Year

2023 Celebrating Excellence student award recipients

The five winners of CAS student awards recognized at the Celebrating Excellence event on May 15th are as follows:

Mireia Roig-Paul – Bioresource Research and Crop & Soil Science majors - Burlingham Undergraduate of Excellence Award

Nolan Carson – Environmental Economics & Policy major - CAS Outstanding Senior Award

Olivia Boisen – Fisheries Science major - Savery Outstanding Master’s Student Award

Marie Tosa – Wildlife Science major - Savery Outstanding Doctoral Student Award

Charlotte Epps – Bioresource Research major – CAS Student Diversity Commitment Award

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship Program

Benjamin A. Gilman Scholarships awarded to five College of Agricultural Sciences Students

Carol Lorenzen

Carol Lorenzen has been elected to the Board of Directors for the American Meat Science Association

The College of Agricultural Sciences at Oregon State University is Oregon's principal source of knowledge relating to agricultural and food systems, and a major source of knowledge regarding environmental quality, natural resources, life sciences, and rural economies and communities worldwide. The College provides undergraduate and graduate education leading to baccalaureate and graduate degrees, and extended education programs throughout Oregon and beyond. Its research programs create knowledge to solve problems and to build a knowledge base for the future. It is a source of information and expertise in integrating and applying knowledge with benefits that are felt in domestic and international settings.