Briskey Award for Faculty Excellence


Recognizing faculty achievement within the College of Agricultural Sciences at Oregon State University.


The award will rotate on a three-year cycle. The announcement of the award recipient will be made at the College of Agricultural Sciences' Faculty and Staff Luncheon where the recipient will receive $1,000 and a plaque.  Note: 2020 was year three of the cycle.


Must be a faculty member in the College of Agricultural Sciences at Oregon State University.


In years one and two the award shall be given to off-campus faculty working in the Counties or in a Research and Extension Center. In year three the award shall be given to an on-campus faculty member using the following criteria. Awards will be made on the basis of program excellence, merit, and achievement.


Nominations should be coordinated through the unit, county, or department offices. Complete nomination packets (.pdf format) should be emailed to Meghan Heineman at by 5:00 pm on the due date (TBD). Note: We have not established awards deadlines for 2022 yet. The Faculty and Staff Awards event, usually held in February, is most likely moving to early June with an approximate deadline for nominations in late March.


Nomination Materials:
  1. NEW - Nominations must include a one-paragraph summary of the awardee’s biography, specific to this award.  This paragraph will be used as a script to be read by the Presenter during the awards ceremony and should be 250 words, maximum
  2. Nomination letter consisting of no more than two pages, double-spaced, summarizing major contributions
  3. A professional resume including position description, FTE assignment, and evidence of successful program
  4. No more than five supporting letters from colleagues and clients. At least two letters should come from individuals not employed by the University
        -Year-one (off-campus) nomination letters of support may be resubmitted in year two, with an updated summary, nomination letter, and resume.

The award recipient will be selected by the College of Agricultural Sciences' Awards Committee composed of faculty and staff.


The cash award is provided through the E.R.Jackman Foundation from the contributions of Dr. and Mrs. Ernest J. Briskey.

Registry of Award Winners