F.E. Price/Agricultural Research Foundation Award for Excellence in Student Advising and Counseling


To recognize outstanding advising and counseling of undergraduate students in the College of Agricultural Sciences.


The recipient will receive $1,000 and a plaque.


The nominee must be a faculty member or classified staff in the College of Agricultural Sciences who is actively involved in advising and counseling undergraduate students.


Evaluations will be based on the following criteria:

  • Personal interest in students and positive attitude toward advising responsibilities.
  • Availability to the student (ease of contact), and commitment toward finding and strengthening advisee's interests and concerns.
  • Knowledge of graduation requirements, academic regulations and procedures.
  • Willingness to address student's long-range goals and objectives, and assist in placement of temporary and/or long-range employment opportunities.


In addition to the base nomination materials required for all awards, nomination packets must also include:

  1. The included nomination letter should summarize the advising and counseling accomplishments of the nominee at Oregon State University. This should also include a summary of the role or a method the nominee plays/uses in the advising and counseling in their administrative unit.
  2. A professional resume.
  3. Position description.
  4. Evidence of successful program.
  5. Three supporting letters, which may be from both current and former advisees or colleagues.


The cash award is provided by the Agricultural Research Foundation.

Registry of Award Winners